Chicken and Dumplings

Cooking with the crockpot is one of my favorite thing.  Crockpot and few ingredients?  Even better.  So, I was totally excited tot ry out this simple chicken and dumplings crock pot meal. Here’s what you need:

  • Chicken
  • Cream of chicken soup
  • Broth
  • Biscuits

Check out the original recipe here, or my pin on my Yum! Board.

chicken and dumplings

Review

Ok.  Hard truth time.  This was not good.  Not at all.  First of all, do not half this recipe.  I did (because that’s all the chicken I had), and it barely made anything.  I knew I was in trouble when I looked at everything in the crock pot and thought, “Huh.  Okay then.”  This recipe was SUPER salty.  Now, I’m a person that doesn’t like much salt at all (and I routinely leave it out when I season dishes), so my taste buds might be skewed.  However, I have made dishes with very similar ingredients, and for the life of me I can’t figure out why it tasted so salty.  Neither my husband nor I liked it.  Even though I halved the recipe and made the serving sizes super small, neither of us finished our dish.

I will say, though, that there is something to the idea.  It just didn’t work for me.  I think there is a way to make a few ingredient, slow cooker chicken and dumplings, but this wasn’t it for me.  I liked the biscuits for the dumplings, and would keep that, but the rest of it needs a good look over.  This wasn’t the recipe for me, and I won’t be making it again.  However, my main complaint was the salt, so maybe you will feel differently about it.

Leave a Reply

