Cinnamon Rolls

Fun fact:  when the husband and I got married, a lot of things about our wedding were not traditional.  Perhaps the least traditional part of our wedding was the cake: a stack of Cinnabon cinnamon rolls.  We absolutely LOVE those gooey, sugary rolls.  So, when I saw this copy-cat recipe, I knew I had to try it out.  It’s almost romantic of me. 

Here’s what you need:

  • Flour
  • Sugar
  • Brown sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Yeast
  • Butter
  • Cream cheese

Check out the original recipe here, or my pin on my Breakfast board.

cinnamon rolls

Review

This recipe makes 12 absolutely HUGE cinnamon rolls-exactly the size you would expect a Cinnabon to be.  I really should have halved the recipe because 12 rolls is a lot for two people to consume.  I made them early last week, and we still have 2 left.  While good, these rolls aren’t exactly a Cinnabon copy.  They are close, but they aren’t quite it.  However, I will totally make these again, because if I can’t have the real thing, this will do it for me.  I might play around some with the recipe to try and make it closer.

Here are some things I noticed when making this recipe.  First of all, I didn’t need as much butter, nor as much of the brown sugar/cinnamon mix as the recipe indicated.  I probably only ended up using about two-thirds of each.  I know that I rolled my dough out enough (I checked with a ruler), so maybe I was supposed to layer it on even thicker?  Also, surprisingly, the husband and I both agreed that there was a touch too much cinnamon.  Now, I used super cheap, generic cinnamon, so perhaps we wouldn’t feel that way with better quality cinnamon (which is one of my “changes” for next time I make this).

Next is the frosting.  The husband thought it didn’t taste cream cheesey enough.  He thought it tasted more like a royal icing (though he didn’t use those words).  I, personally, did taste the cream cheese, but agreed that it could have been better.  I think I would add more cream cheese to the icing in the future.  Also, the frosting is a MUST.  It simply doesn’t taste right without it.

It might sound like I didn’t like this recipe, but you would be wrong.  I really enjoyed this.  I just plan on playing with it more, so it tastes a bit more like my wedding.  Don’t skimp on anything when you make this-none of that low fat cream cheese or the like.  If you’re going to make a cinnamon roll, make it worth the trip to the gym afterward.  And really, these are totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

