Tortellini Soup

Byte now it’s obvious that I love one pan meals, but I also love crockpot meals.  These are my favorites for when I don’t have a lot of time or when I want to feed more than just the two of us.  Today’s meal is crockpot tortellini soup.  For this you will need:

  • tortellini
  • tomatoes
  • spinach
  • cream cheese
  • chicken broth

As always, check out the original recipe here, or my pin on my Yum! Board.

tortelinni soup

Review

First of all, this recipe is super easy.  Just throw everything in the crockpot and let it go.  One thing that I did wrong was overcook.  The tortellini got a little mushy when I left this alone all day.  However, I also only had SUPER cheap tortellini at my grocery store, so the overall quality of my tortellini might  have contributed to the mushiness.

The taste was, I thought, pretty good.  In the future I might add some additional spice to make it a little more flavorful, but, overall, it was a tasty dish.  I might also choose some other type of tortellini.  I only had cheese tortellini available, so something with a different filling might provide a better flavor combination.

One tip that I’ve learned works best for my crockpot is to wait until the last 30 minutes or so if I am going to add cream cheese to a mixture.  I have a couple of recipes that make a creamy soup base by dropping in cream cheese.  It doesn’t seem to blend right for me (and once even made an odd film) if I add the cream cheese right at the start.  Instead, I wait until about half an hour before we are going to eat, and I cut it into chunks and add it in.  Fifteen minutes later I stir it in.  This seems to work for me, but your mileage may vary.  Maybe it’s just because my crock pots are old.

You might have noticed that the picture set doesn’t include a final dish.  It had been a really long day, and I was so hungry that I simply forgot!  I will make this recipe again.  It’s not one that I would put into the weekly rotation, but it is something that I would use every couple of weeks.  It fed the two of us for two days, and it did reheat fairly well. Overall, good, but I’ll probably make a few tweaks.

Leave a Reply

