Quote Me

Today it’s time for another “fun” post.  One of the things I was doing this time last summer was preparing for school to start.  Before I moved to Arizona, I was an English teacher, and I always had some sort of crazy plans that I wanted to accomplish during the year.  Last summer it was book quotes.

“Book quotes?” You might be thinking.  “What does that even mean?” Well, the plan was simple.  I was going to find some of my favorite inspirational/moving/beautiful quotes from books I loved, print them out, and hang them on one wall in my room.  I was going to add to it all year.  I was going to encourage students to suggest new quotes to add as they read throughout the year.  It was going to be a wall you could look to for your next book, for some sound advice, or just to enjoy.

So, of course, it didn’t actually happen.  Last summer turned out to be harder than anticipated, and I spent nearly all of it fixing up the house so we could sell it;  In fact, almost exactly one year ago we went on the market.  So, everything was packed into nice boxes, and the materials I would have used for the project were hidden away.  I still kind of used the idea, though.  All of my students were given post-it notes to grab from as they read and we stuck them to a quote bulletin board.  Sadly, I did it for points, so some quotes were less inspired than others.

So today I wanted to share some of my favorite quotes I pinned while I was still working on this idea, and encourage you to check out the books they are from.  Let’s get started.

You can find all of these pins on my Book Quotes board.

First up:  Harry Potter

Harry Potter Quote

harry potter quote

I loved the Harry Potter books.  I worked release parties for the last two, and those are some of my happiest work memories of all time. These books are wonderful to read to your children, and you’ll have a lot of time to do that because there are seven very long books. I have seen kids who claim to hate reading enjoy Harry Potter.  It truly is remarkable how much a kid must love a story to overcome their hate of reading to read 700 pages.

Next: Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables

I love Anne Shirley, but that might have something to do with her being a feisty red head.  Anne is set in Canada around the turn of the century. She is an orphan who has been adopted by a couple that thought they were getting a boy to help out at their farm.  This is a story about learning who you are and coming of age.  This is also part of a series, but I really only liked the first three or so.  Toward the end I didn’t love the series.

How about: Invisible Monsters

Invisible Monsters

This one is certainly NOT a kids book.  A while back my book club read Invisible Monsters, and it was crazy, and messed up, and totally amazing all at once.  This is not a book for the light hearted.  It stars a model that has had half her face shot off. I really can’t say too much about this book as going on the journey is part of the twisted fun.

And finally:  The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars

This book is a teenage love story.  Oh, and there’s cancer.  Have a box of tissues on hand.

 

What are your favorite stories or quotes?  I had a hard time choosing.  This post could have easily had all 30+ of the quotes on my board and I’d still feel like I wasn’t doing books justice.  I haven’t mentioned To Kill a Mockingbird, or Game of Thrones, or any other of 100s of books.  Please share your favorites with me!

 

Leave a Reply

