Chicken Burrito Bowls

My love for one pan cooking knows no bounds!  In fact, I think it’s finally time to purchase a new pan, as this one seems to finally be losing its non-stick surface.  I’m not even mad.  It was a $20 pan that has lasted 5+ years. Until that upgrade, though, I will continue to use my beloved pan, and continue to enjoy one pan meals like today’s chicken burrito bowls.  This one has many ingredients, but mainly you will need:

  • Chicken
  • Rice
  • Chicken stock
  • Black beans
  • Cheese

Obviously there is way more, like spices and onions and the toppings, so check out the original recipe, or my pin on my Yum! Board.

chicken burrito bowl

Review

I loved this recipe.  It is definitely something I am going to put into rotation.  It was super easy, and enormously delicious.  I do love sour cream and guacamole, though, so that probably played a large role in my overall love.  Even the husband liked it.  I make this other dish, a white chicken chili, with similar ingredients, and the husband prefers this.

One thing I did wrong was use too much chicken.  It really wasn’t a choice, though.  I had put the chicken on the stovetop to thaw, and then spent the day baking bread.  When I went to separate the chicken, I noticed that it has started to cook in the packaging.  Whoops!  That meant dumping in more chicken than the recipe called for.

I really love the spices that are in this recipe.  They make everything flavorful but not too spicy. It’s a great combination. I love dishes that have flavor layers, and this one had a bunch of different flavors for me to enjoy. I will totally be making this again, and it’s something I think you should try out.

Leave a Reply

