Pretzel Buns

Making pretzels is something I have wanted to do for a while, but just never got to doing.  Then I came across this pretzel bun recipe and thought that it was finally time I give this a try.  I don’t know why, but pretzels always scared me.  Well, not any more!  After the bread making I’ve been doing, these were a cinch! You will need:

  • flour
  • salt
  • yeast
  • water
  • butter
  • baking soda

Check out the original recipe, or see my pin on my Yum! Board.

Pretzel Rolls

Review

This recipe was so easy to follow and easy to make.  I was worried because I don’t have a stand mixer, so everything had to be done by hand.  It really wasn’t a problem at all.  It was just as easy as making bread dough by hand, and I don’t consider that all that difficult. It really makes me question why I ever thought making pretzels would be hard.

One problem I had was making my dough balls smooth.  Even though the recipe didn’t say to, I turned my dough out of the bowl onto a floured surface because that’s what I had needed to do with my breads. I think that was my problem.  That extra flour on the dough made it not want to stick together in nice, smooth balls.  So most of my rolls have all these extra cracks in them.  It’s not pretty, but it still tastes good.

Another problem I had was I don’t own a slotted spoon!  (I know!  Who doesn’t own a slotted spoon?!) That made fishing the dough balls out of the baking soda water a bit messy.  USE A SLOTTED SPOON.  Buy one (I will be). I ended up with some water on my baking sheet, and when I put it in the oven, it spilled onto the bottom of my oven and I had a lovely burning smell while I was cooking.  Now I have to clean my oven again.

I will definitely be making these again.  The husband has already asked me to make them again next week.  I had originally made them to use as hamburger buns, but every night he has come home he has eaten one, so I will HAVE to make more if that’s what we’re going to use them for.  There’s enough to have hamburgers for dinner tonight, so I think tonight’s dinner is going to be a real winner.

What are you waiting for?  These things taste DELICIOUS.  Get cracking!  It does take some time from start to finish, but there’s a lot of down time while the dough rises and it is TOTALLY worth it.

3 thoughts on “Pretzel Buns

Leave a Reply

