My Cleaning Schedule

One of the things I struggle with as a stay-at-home-wife is using my time wisely.  I’ll be honest-I don’t always use it wisely.  One thing that really helps me, though, is having a schedule.  I still have large chunks of free time within my schedule, but I guarantee that I will do something useful with my day when I follow a schedule. Today I’m going to share my cleaning schedule with you.

Monday

  • Vacuum the entire house
  • Clean the kitchen
  • Mop the entire house

Tuesday

  • Laundry
  • Clean the bathrooms

Wednesday

  • Vacuum the entire house
  • Clean the kitchen
  • “Dust” the house (mostly using the vacuum attachments to clean baseboards and window sills and any flat surfaces)

Thursday

  • Clean windows and mirrors

Friday

  • Vacuum the entire house
  • Mop the entire house

You’ll notice that I do the same things over and over again.  I used to vacuum the house every day, but Monday/Wednesday/Friday seems to work just as well.  If it has been a particular “messy” day. I will throw in additional vacuuming.  The house is only 900sqft, so it takes me about 15-20 minutes total.  It’s necessary to vacuum at least three times a week because of all the red dust that gets everywhere plus the dog hair (as our dogs are adjusting to the climate here and shedding due to the heat).

I clean the kitchen a lot.  That’s because I use the kitchen a lot. I do a quick clean after every cooking, but a few times a week I scrub the sink.  I will admit that I hate cleaning the stove and the burners, so I am always talking myself out of deep cleaning them, but it does happen around twice a month.

I usually only do one load of laundry a week.  There are only two of us, and the husband wears scrubs every day, so there’s just not a lot of laundry.  However, we hang dry everything, so doing laundry means hanging everything up so it can properly dry.  That said, laundry will dry within a few hours and can be put away by the end of the day.

This is just my cleaning schedule.  I also have an errands schedule, a writing schedule, a d workout schedule-you get the idea.  Some days have more things that need to be accomplished than others.  It’s not perfect, but it works for me.

Leave a Reply

