One Skillet Meal: Mexican Pasta

I know I’ve said this before, but I love one pan meals.  I’m not a huge fan of doing dishes all the time, so one skillet meals are such an awesome solution.  I get very excited when I come across one and it turns out really well, which is exactly what happened this time!  For this meal, you will need:

  • Ground meat
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Corn
  • Black beans
  • Avocado
  • Elbow noodles
  • Tomato Sauce
  • Salsa

Check out the full recipe here, or see my pin on my Yum! Board.

mexican skillet pasta

Review

This dish was simple and super tasty.  One of the things that I found a little odd was that it calls for one cup of corn and one cup of black beans, which is less than a full can.  I followed the directions, but in the future I would just dump in the entire can and not think twice about it.

Both the husband and I loved the flavors, but he thought that it was a bit “heavy” and was more of a winter or fall meal than summer.  I mostly agree with him.  Some foods just feel “right” in a particular season, and I think this might be one of them.

I try to always follow the recipe exactly the first time I make it, as was the case with this one.  You guys, it made a TON of food.  If I had a family of four, the amount would have been perfect.  However, there are only two of us.  Next time I will half the recipe.  That said, it reheats wonderfully, so having all that extra wasn’t too bad.

I will definitely make this again.  It was simple and tasty.  I just might wait until it starts to cool down again, because the husband is right, I think this might taste better on a day with a little more crispness to the air.  I can see this becoming one of my favorite comfort dinners for a cold night.

Leave a Reply

