Fangirl: P&P

Last time I did a “fun” post, I introduced you to the world of fangirls, shipping, and OTPs.  Today I want to share one of my fangirl obsessions:  Pride and Prejudice. I LOVE Pride and Prejudice.  I came to the book a little later than most people do.  I did not read it in high school.  Instead, a copy was given to me after graduation, but it took until the summer between my freshman and sophomore year in college to actually read it.  Some of the girls on my floor were arguing about which proposal was worse:  Mr. Collin’s or Darcy’s first.  (Darcy’s first OBVIOUSLY.) I couldn’t contribute, and that did it.  Time to read the book.

Since then I have become a touch obsessed.  I own the 6 hour BBC miniseries, and watch it at least once a year.  Sometimes I make the husband watch with me.  He does a fairly decent Mrs. Bennet impersonation. I have bought SO MANY of the variations and sequels.  I used to have an entire collection (like took up half a 6 foot tall bookshelf), but I donated most of them when I moved and kept only my favorites.  (LOVE From Lambton to Longbourn by Abigail Reynolds.  I own it in paperback and eBook.). I’m not a huge fan of the 2005 movie, but I also can’t deny the spot on casting.  I just wish the story had been adapted better.

So, with such a love of Pride and Prejudice, that means I MUST have pins on my Don’t Judge Me board that fill me with fangirl joy.  Here are some of my favorites.

This one uses screen caps from the 2005 movie to show Darcy’s inner struggle.

Pride and Prejudice Darcy Inner Struggles

Then there’s Colin staring longingly and appealing to the book nerd in me.

affirmations from Mr. Darcy

There’s this Austen to modern English translation.

haha I love pride and prejudice

Then, of course, are some of my favorites from the YouTube adaptation, the Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

Gems like Jane pretending to be Darcy.

Charlotte as Caroline and Jane as Darcy -- Lizzie Bennet Diaries = AWESOME.

Or Charlotte’s analysis of Darcy’s problem (and his subsequent solution, though he didn’t know Charlotte thought he had a problem.)

Pride and Prejudice. So then you can enjoy The Lizzie Bennet Diaries on YouTube. You know it makes sense.  http://www.youtube.com/lizziebennet

I’ve tried to link to the original sources, but some of the links lead nowhere, so I just have my pins.  As always, I did not create any of these images.  Check the links (when available) for sources.

So what about you?  Do you love Pride and Prejudice?  Have you checked out the Lizzie Bennet Diaries?  What is your favorite adaptation/sequel/variation?

 

Leave a Reply

