10 Minute Skirt

I hope everyone had a fun holiday weekend!  The husband and I went hiking.  I got a mild sunburn, but it was a lot of fun.  Our little section of Arizona has some great parks that were fun to explore.  In addition to hiking, I also decided to do a quick little sewing project.  And when I say quick, I mean quick!  It only took me 10 minutes!  Today I’m going to show you how to make a 1o minute skirt.  You will need:

  • A knit jersey pillow case
  • Elastic
  • A sewing machine and thread

skirt

Process

  1. Take the pillow case, and cut open the bottom so you now have a tube of fabric.
  2. Measure your waist. Cut the elastic 1 inch larger than your waist if you want the skirt to ride a skosh loose on the hips. Cut the elastic exactly at the measurement if you want to have the skirt be a skosh snug at the hips.
  3. Sew together the elastic (making sure not to twist it) so you have an elastic loop.
  4. Using the end of the pillowcase that you cut, sew the elastic into the waist by folding over the cut edge and sewing the elastic into a “tube.”
  5. You’re done!  Because the pillow case already has a folded hem on the opening, there is nothing else to do!

Hints and Tips

  • If your waist measures larger than the pillowcase, cut open the side seams before inserting the elastic and add a stripe of fabric down either side.
  • If you want a shorter skirt, simply cut off more at the waist before sewing in the elastic.
  • You could easily add pockets or a slit to the skirt if you don’t like the straight, maxi look.
  • There are many ways to put elastic into a waist.  If you don’t like (or don’t understand) the way I did, simply follow your favorite technique.
  • I love buying clearance sheet sets as a source of fun fabric. I had pulled out this sheet set to make a skirt, took a look at the pillow case that came with it and thought to myself, “this is going to be easier than I thought!” The best time to buy clearance jersey sheet sets is when the back to school and college supplies go on sale at Target.
  • I used a jersey pillowcase because otherwise my steps would be very small because there would be no stretch when I was walking. If you make the skirt shorter or add a slit, you probably could also do this with a regular cotton pillowcase.  I haven’t tried, so I don’t know.
Leave a Reply

