Mac and Cheese

I love cheese and pretty much any recipe that calls for cheese.  I love all kinds of cheese.  It sort of kills me that specialty cheese here is a nice sharp cheddar.  But, that doesn’t stop me from enjoying recipes that call for the cheeses I can find here. So, when I came across this homemade mac and cheese recipe, I knew I had to try it.  Here’s what you need:

  • cheddar
  • monterey jack
  • Velveeta
  • milk
  • noodles
  • eggs

Now, this recipe is meant to feed a crowd, so if you want to make it for just a regular dinner, you really need to scale it back appropriately. You can find the recipe here, or check out my pin on my Yum! Board.

 mac and cheese

Review

I halved this recipe and it was still a lot of food (especially since there are only two of us!), but she very clearly stated that it was meant to feed a crowd. I probably could have quartered it and been fine.  Overall, the recipe was easy to follow. I couldn’t find whole milk at the store (they were restocking), so I made do with a mix of heavy cream and 2% and that seemed to work just fine. I added red pepper flakes and it was a nice little bit of spice to go with the creamy goodness.  This recipe is super heavy and decedent, so a small slice it totally filling.  That meant lots of left overs.  One thing we did with the leftovers was make grilled mac and cheese sandwiches.  They were delicious!  Because the mac and cheese is so dense, it is super easy to cut up into slices when you pull it out of the fridge.  A lot of grilled mac and cheese recipes will tell you to add some sliced cheese to your sandwich, but with this recipe, it is totally unnecessary.  I would suggest cutting the mac and cheese into slices right when you pull it out of the refrigerator, but then warming the slices up a bit before making the sandwich.  I didn’t warm them up the first time I made the sandwiches, and the middle was still a little cold while the outside was that perfect golden brown.  The second time I warmed up the slices (just a quick jaunt in the microwave), and it heated more evenly and there were no cool spots.  If you slice your mac and cheese really thin, this might not be a problem, but, as you can see, I liked my slices nice and thick.

Overall, I will totally make this again.  If I ever need to take a side dish to a potluck, this is going to be my go-to recipe.  I might still half it, depending on the size of the gathering.  As for making it for dinner again, well, it’s a possibility.  I will, for sure, quarter the recipe if I make it again for just us, but I think it’s like the recipe says-this is best for special occasions or holidays.  It is, however, amazingly delicious, so I will certainly be tempted on a night when I am craving some cheesy goodness.

**As a programming note, I will not be posting on Friday.  The husband has the day off for the holiday!

One thought on “Mac and Cheese

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Mac and Cheese | The Pinterest Wife

Leave a Reply

