Lemon Garlic Chicken

Some days I just don’t feel like washing the dishes that go with cooking a meal.  On days like that I love a good crockpot meal or a one pan meal. I usually don’t realize it’s an “ugh! dishes!” sort of day until it’s time to cook, so by then it’s too late for the crockpot. Luckily, I came across this one pan dinner that is simple and has some of my favorite flavors. (Lemon! Garlic!) Here’s what you need:

  • chicken
  • garlic
  • lemon
  • noodles
  • chicken stock
  • parmesan cheese

Check out the original recipe here, or my pin on my Yum! Board.

Lemon Chicken

Review

I’ve made this recipe twice now.  Like I mentioned earlier, I love the flavors, so it can be hard to pass this one up. However, the second time I made this, things didn’t go as well as the first time. One of the steps in the directions is to add the noodles to the pan, cover, and let cook for 15-20 minutes.  Somehow, my noodles didn’t end up fully cooked.  It’s totally my fault, as I must have not properly arranged the noodles so they could soak up the broth and water, but it was a frustrating outcome. This also meant I had too much liquid left in the pan before the final step. So, if you decide to make this dish, be sure that all of your noodles are properly positioned so they can cook appropriately.

Also, don’t be an idiot, like I was, when removing the covering for the pan. My pan doesn’t have a lid, so I used a cookie sheet to cover it.  No big deal, right?  Except I forgot about how there would be steaming hot water droplets on the underside when I removed the “lid,” and the water definitely came off in a small river running right onto my feet.  Luckily I was wearing socks, so I didn’t get badly burned, but I did get burned.  Learn from my mistakes!

As you can see, I didn’t cut up a lemon to make my dish look pretty.  I also didn’t have any basil on hand as I don’t currently have a garden, and the store was out.  If I can get my hands on some basil, next time I make this I will certainly add it as I think the basil will add some nice flavor.

Overall, I got out of washing a zillion dishes (though I had more than I normally would so I could take that ingredient picture), and I had a delicious final product.  If these flavors appeal to you, give this recipe a try.  I think you’ll like it.

 

(As a side note, my computer kept trying to correct “crockpot” to” crackpot” and I giggled each time it autocorrected.)

Leave a Reply

