Coffee Syrup and Bonus Latte

 

This morning I was struggling.  I didn’t sleep well, and all I wanted to do was go back to bed.  Of course, I could do that (being a housewife has its perks), but I had a lot I wanted to accomplish today, so getting up was necessary.  Then I remembered that I had pinned a recipe for coffee syrup, and thought that it was just the thing to get me going this morning.  I made the maple vanilla version of the syrup, so I needed:

  • sugar
  • water
  • maple syrup
  • vanilla

That’s it!  Can you believe how simple this is?  You can find the original recipe here, or check out my pin on my Drinks on Me board.  Also on that board, you can find the pin for the perfect latte recipe that I followed after I made the syrup.

coffe syrupReview

This coffee syrup was SO EASY to make, and it makes a lot!  I don’t have a picture of the final product because I just put it in a vacuum sealed food jar because I didn’t have a pretty bottle, but trust.  If I had to guess, I’d think there is enough syrup to last a month. (Of course, that’s very dependent on how much syrup you decide to use each time.)  The overall cook time is around 30-40 minutes depending on how long it takes for the initial gentle boil, plus you need to allow it to cool before youput it in a jar or bottle. I didn’t feel like this was too bad, though, because it’s a low maintenance recipe.  You want to let it simmer for 15-20 minutes while stirring occasionally.  I used a kitchen timer that I set for 3 minutes.  Every 3 minutes I would check it and stir.  While I waited, I checked Facebook, Twitter, my email, etc.

On her website, the recipe author says this would be a great gift, and I agree.  I can see this being an excellent housewarming gift or hostess gift with some coffee or some mugs.  It would also be a cool shower gift.  You could make several different types and use small bottles so everyone goes home with a sampler.

After I made the syrup, I decided to follow her directions for the perfect latte.  Honestly, I only used her directions for the general gist of things.  I didn’t have any espresso, I only had low-fat milk, and I don’t own a frother. But, that didn’t mean I couldn’t follow the spirit of the recipe.  I brewed some regular coffee, though not as much as I normally do.  I put a cup of milk on the stove and set the flame to medium heat and just sort of watched it.  Another thing I don’t have is a candy thermometer, so I couldn’t check to see when I hit 150 degrees.  Instead I looked for steam to roll off the top, but not yet boil.  Since I didn’t have a special frothing device, I just used the whisk attachment on my hand mixer and beat it until there was a lot of foam. I’m not sure if I should have beat it longer or shorter, or if it was the lack of fat in the milk, but the final product left me with foam that isn’t quite like the pictures.

To put it all together, I put 2 tablespoons of my coffee syrup in my mug, then added the coffee, and finally added the milk, using a butter knife to hold back the foam until the very end. The final result was delicious.

Will I make this again?  Absolutely. Without a doubt I will do this again. I will probably try the caramel syrup next (though I am probably going to work out how to make a toffee flavor because that’s my current favorite).  I won’t be making syrup for a while, though., as today’s batch will last me for a while.  I will also make the latte again, though maybe not all the time.  It makes a lot of dishes to heat the milk on the stove and whisk it.  I might reserve the lattés for Saturdays, or, at the very least, days when I just want to crawl back into bed.

One thought on “Coffee Syrup and Bonus Latte

  1. Pingback: Peppermint Coffee Syrup and Latte | The Pinterest Wife

Leave a Reply

