Fanatic Fun

Sometimes (a lot of the time), I peruse Pinterest not for the latest recipe or DIY, but for something that will make me laugh or something that appeals to the dorky/geeky side of me.  Today’s post is all about items you can find on my Don’t Judge Me board, and, more specifically, about fan-girling.**

If you follow me on Twitter, you might have noticed that my bio says “Fangirl of random people I see on the street.  You two over there!  I ship you now!” If you aren’t a fangirl, this might make no sense to you, so here’s a primer, using some of my pins.

What is a fangirl?  Perhaps this Tumblr post about “if teachers were fangirls” will help clarify that.

Extra credit if it makes me cry

Basically, a fangirl is a fan, but much more so than a casual fan. I have always used the term as un-gendered (I believe once I wrote a post on my personal blog about the husband being a fangirl when he met Roy Underhill), but I have heard the word “fanboy” on occasion as well.  These people are like super-fans. They can be fans of a show, a character, or a performer.  There are fangirls for literature (yup-there are Pride and Prejudice fangirls, more so since Lizzie Bennet Diaries came out), fangirls for musicians (boybands are especially popular), and even fangirls of normal people.

Lots of fangirls do something called “shipping.”

Jamie what is shipping?

Or, in GIF form

What is shipping?

And if you’re into shipping, you probably have an OTP.

I'll have to remember this for the next time I have to explain what OTP means.

OTP stands for “One True Pairing,” and is pretty much the couple you most want to get together.  A lot of fangirls have OTPs that are not canon. That simply means they are unlikely to actually see their most desired pairing hook up.  Some shows (cough* Sherlock* cough) play around with the OTPs that they know fans have.  If you’re lucky, you get to see your OTP come together. It’s kind of magical.  Some fangirls write fan fiction.  There is a lot of fan fiction for non-canon OTPs.

Yes!

Some fangirls are zealous, while others are more low-key. And it is thanks to the fangirls that I find lots of pins that appeal to my own inner fangirl.

 

**Some of the links are pins that illustrate a point, but are not actually on my board.

***I did not create any of the images presented in this entry.  Please refer to the pins for the original source.

 

 

 

One thought on “Fanatic Fun

  1. Pingback: Fangirl: P&P | The Pinterest Wife

Leave a Reply

