Personal Stationary

I have a 13 year-old niece.  Over the summer she is moving to a new state, and leaving all of her friends behind.  Having gone through something similar recently, I decided to send her a stationary kit.  My kit included 10 pieces of stationary and 20 envelopes. I wrote her a little card telling her to address some of the envelopes to herself and to have her friends address the other envelopes to themselves.  I told her to give the envelopes with her new address to her friends so they could start to write to her.  Today I’m going to show you how I made her personalized stationary.

Materials

  • Embossing stamp pad
  • Rubber stamp
  • Paper (I used cardstock)
  • Embossing powder
  • Heat gun

stationary

Process

  1. Ink up your rubber stamp using the embossing ink.  Some embossing ink is clear, but mine had a blue tint, which made everything a lot easier.  Make sure that your stamp has a nice, even coating.
  2. Place the stamp on the paper wherever you want the image.  I put my on the center top.  It really just depends on the overall appearance that you want.
  3. Cover the ink on the paper with the embossing powder.  Just dump a bunch on.  Make sure the ink is totally covered.
  4. Tap the excess off and back into the bottle.
  5. Using a heat gun, heat the powder until it has a shiny sheen to it.  (Just watch it.  You’ll be able to tell when the powder has melted.)
  6. Let cool and you’re done!

Tips and Tricks

  • I’ve been told that both a hot plate and a hair dryer work in place of the heat gun.  There are also specific embossing heat tools you can buy.  I have not tried any of these out, so I can’t say how well they work.
  • Be sure not to overheat.  I did that on my first paper, and the paper started to brown on me.
  • Don’t touch the embossing until it is completely dry.  I did that and it both smudges your paper and kinda stings depending on how hot the powder still is.
  • Have extras on hand.  This was my first time embossing, and I made mistakes or wasn’t totally happy with each stamping.
Leave a Reply

