Pot stickers

I love pretty much all food.  For a while, the husband and I were taking a culinary journey with his uncle and some of his cousins.  We would pick a nationality and find a Chicagoland restaurant to try out. It was a lot of fun. I would have never tried Ethiopian food if it weren’t for his uncle and his attempt to educate through food. So, while not exactly Earth shattering in it’s “newness” to me, I was super excited to give this pot stickers recipe a chance. Your main ingredients are:

  • Ground pork
  • Cabbage
  • Mushrooms
  • Won ton wrappers

You’ll need more than this, though, in order to season appropriately.  You can check out the full recipe here, or check out my pin on my Yum! board.

Won TonsReview

My store only carried square won ton wrappers, so I needed to improvise a little on how I closed them up.  The middle picture above was what I found to be the most successful.  One thing I noticed about the recipe was that it didn’t call for you to cook the ground pork prior to putting it in the mixture. I can’t really tell from her pictures if she did or not, but I certainly cooked the pork first.  My stove top is more of a blunt instrument than anything else, so I wasn’t sure that the pork would cook properly if I didn’t cook it prior to mixing it with the other ingredients.

The recipe makes a LOT of pot stickers.  In her directions, she says that you can freeze some.  This is certainly something I would do in the future.  Instead I just ate myself silly.  I would definitely make this again, but I would probably do some more seasoning.  I think the best place to add seasoning would be to the pork when I am cooking it prior to adding it to the mix.

At first I was worried that this was going to be a hard recipe to follow or that the technique would trip me up, but it was simple. Don’t be intimidated if you’ve never worked with won ton wrappers before.  Just be patient and don’t over-fill them. I had never worked with them before and it wasn’t hard at all. If you enjoy pot stickers, this is definitely a recipe you should try.

 

Leave a Reply

