Baked Potato Chicken Casserole

One of the things I love to do is check the “Food and Drink” category on Pinterest.  I enjoyed this before I was a housewife, but even more so now.  I have plenty of time to cook, so why not give some of those delicious recipes a try?  Of course, the main downside is that I live in a small town, so some of my food options are limited.  For example, one recipe I’ve tried required hoisin sauce.  I have exactly two grocery options here:  Safeway and Wal-Mart.  I didn’t find it at Wal-Mart, and Safeway was looking like a bust too until a clerk helped me.  Together we found exactly one bottle sitting on a top shelf.  I’ve looked again since then (even though I don’t need any more), and currently neither store carries hoisin sauce.  Sometimes I just have to hold a recipe in my back pocket until all the ingredients become available.

But that is not the case with today’s recipe.  Today’s recipe calls for things found in pretty much every grocery store.  To make today’s casserole you will need:

  • potatoes
  • chicken
  • bacon
  • cheddar cheese
  • scallions
  • heavy cream
  • butter
  • salt and pepper

You can find the pin on my “Yum!” board.  The pin will link you here to the recipe.

Chicken Baked Potato CasseroleReview

This recipe is super simple.  You don’t even have to peel the potatoes.  It took me about 10 minutes to prepare.  However, you do need to plan ahead because the cook time is an hour and a half.  You bake for 60 minutes with foil covering the pan, and then another 30 minutes uncovered.  I’ve made this twice now, and I was able to cut 5 minutes off the last 30 by chopping my chicken and potatoes fairly small.  The increased surface area meant these parts cooked a little faster.  Could I have cut off more time?  Maybe, but I”m not an expert on meat cooking, and I’d rather not get sick because I couldn’t wait an additional 10 minutes for it to cook properly.

I love loaded baked potatoes, so this is a recipe that I really enjoyed.  Sure it cooked forever, but the prep took next to no time.  It is also fairly filling.  I used a 9×9 Pyrex dish, and that made four solid servings.  I didn’t feel the need to make any sort of side dish to go with this, though a simple salad might have been a nice addition.  (Instead I had dessert.)  The time in the oven is a bit annoying, and I probably won’t make it very often during the summer because of the heat it puts out, but I will be making this again.  Even the husband liked it!

One thought on “Baked Potato Chicken Casserole

  1. Pingback: Cheesesteak Stuffed Bell Peppers | The Pinterest Wife

Leave a Reply

